Author: Attorneys at Antone, Casagrande & Adwers
Published on: November 18, 2020

On March 15, 2017, the U.S. District Court for the District of Hawaii issued a worldwide temporary restraining order stopping the government from implementing the 90-day travel ban on entry into the U.S. by immigrants and nonimmigrants from six predominantly Muslim countries (Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen), and the 120-day ban on the U.S. refugee program of President Trump’s Executive Order issued on March 6, 2017 (see discussion below).

In addition, on March 16, 2017, the U.S. District Court of the District of Maryland joined the District of Hawaii.

With the ruling of these two judges – others may follow – travelers from these six Muslim-majority countries and refugees will still be able to travel to the United States.

The Department of State has advised that U.S. Embassies and Consulates will continue to process visas for nationals of the six countries as before.

Interpretation and implementation of this Executive Order is constantly changing, not only based on the outcome of various litigation across the country, but also as the result of clarification provided by the various agencies involved.

We will continue to track any and all new developments regarding President Trump’s Executive Orders on immigration and we will make every effort to provide you with the most up-to-date general information.